Eleven teachers from across the state have been named finalists in the 2016 Minnesota Teacher of the Year program. An independent selection panel of 23 leaders in the areas of education, business, government and non-profits selected the finalists from a group of 34 semifinalists. There were 115 Teacher of the Year candidates for this program year.

The selection panel meets again May 14 to conduct individual interviews with the 11 finalists and to cast votes for the 2016 Minnesota Teacher of the Year.

Jennifer Lompart, Northfield High School English as a Second Language (ESL)/Performing Arts teacher, has been selected as one of the eleven finalists for the 2016 Minnesota Teacher of the Year award. See the Northfield News article highlighting this accomplishment.

The 2015 Minnesota Teacher of the Year, Amy Hewett-Olatunde of the St. Paul School District, will announce this year’s honoree at a banquet at the Radisson Blu Mall of America on May 15.