The Northfield Education Association (NEA) is looking for nominations for the 2012-13 Teacher of the Year award. Nominations will be accepted from students, staff and community members until Oct. 12.

To be eligible, nominees must teach at Northfield Public Schools (pre-kindergarten through 12th grade); hold a baccalaureate degree and teaching license issued by the state of Minnesota; have completed at least 5 full years of teaching in the district; and intend to teach in the district during the 2012-13 school year.

This will be the tenth year the NEA has sponsored the award program. The Northfield honoree will be eligible to be a candidate for Education Minnesota’s 49th Minnesota Teacher of the Year award.

Past recipients of the Northfield Teacher of the Year award include Susan Roosenraad, Earl Weinmann, Deney Perkins, David Bly, Kathy Flicek, John Bade, Cheryl Mathison, Joanne Olson, Amy Sieve, and Kevin Dahle.

Contact Mark Thornton (507.663.0630 / 507.663.1337) for a nomination form.