Five out of five 2011 Northfield High School National Merit Scholarship semifinalists have advanced to the finalist level of the competition. Atticus Christensen, Merrill Lutsky, Lily O’Hara-Brantner, Haley Ryan and Lauren Wustenberg will compete to attain finalist standing. To become a finalist, a semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by the high school principal, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test. The semifinalist and a high school official must submit a detailed scholarship application, which includes the student’s essay and information about the semifinalist’s participation and leadership in school and community activities. National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced beginning in April.